Vote for you 2019 Spirit of Corby winners!

Release Date: 
Thursday, September 5, 2019 - 10:15

The nominations are in and the 2019 shortlist for the Spirit of Corby Awards has now been chosen. Now it’s up to the people of Corby to say a big thank you to those that give back to their communities or contribute to life in the Borough in some way by casting their votes!

So the 2019 nominees are:

Community Spirit Award

An individual or group who has worked towards making their area a safer or stronger community, whether it’s through contributing to reducing crime and anti-social behaviour or simply being an active member of the community who gives time to make a difference in their area.

  • Lacinda Allen
  • Susanne Cunningham
  • Michelle Norman

Environmental Spirit Award (sponsored by Tata Steel)

An individual or group who have worked to protect or improve the natural or built environment or promoted environmentally responsible attitudes and behaviour, e.g. recycling, energy saving.

  • Jennifer Woodward
  • Linden Mears
  • Greener Gretton Project

Creative Spirit Award – (Sponsored by Gravity)

For an individual or group who has shown a talent or given up time to help develop others in the arts in Corby – music, theatre, art, dance, literature etc. Or who has shown general creativity through arts & crafts such as knitting, painting and handy crafts.

  • Sophia Madden
  • May Cardwell – SHAPE Dance
  • Made in Corby

Club Spirit Award (Sponsored by Quantum Print)

For an individual or a group who has contributed towards a local club or society, such as sporting, social or voluntary groups, or nominate for whole club or group for what they bring for the community.

  • Keith Hudson
  • Sean Jackson
  • Corby Fishing Club

Educational Spirit Award (sponsored by Spirit Hyundai)

For an individual or a group who has enriched their lives through a commitment to lifelong learning, who has returned to education, achieved excellence in their chosen filed, or who inspires others with their enthusiasm and love for learning.

  • Paul Balmer
  • Anna Plaminiak
  • Emily Bull

Young Spirit of Corby Award (Sponsored by Savoy Cinema)

For a young Corby resident (under 25) who has made a contribution to their local community, is an example to their friends, may have excelled in music, education and sport, or has perhaps overcome adversity to show the real ‘Spirit of Corby’:

  • Liam Flanagan
  • Marley Nelson
  • Chantal McLaren

The overall Spirit of Corby Award winner (supported by The Core at Corby Cube) will be chosen from the winners of the other awards.

The public will have from 12 noon on Thursday 5th September until 12 noon on Thursday 12th September to cast their vote for their favourites but don’t worry; the voting process is quick and easy! Anyone is welcome to vote by simply filling in an e-form which will be located on the front page of Corby Borough Council’s website ( or by picking up a form from the front desk at The Corby Cube, George Street.

All votes must be in by the deadline, after which they will be counted and the winners will be announced at an awards night on Friday 27th September in the Core at Corby Cube.

If you would like to come along and cheer on the nominees on the awards night from the balcony area in the theatre then please get in contact with Corby Borough Council’s Communications Office for free tickets to the event on 01536 464020 or email  


Notes to Editors: The Spirit of Corby is a series of awards for the people of Corby by the people of Corby. They are awards that highlight some of the many residents in our community that go that extra mile to contribute to life in the Borough. This year the awards are being supported by The Core Theatre, Gravity, Savoy Cinema, Spirit Hyundai, Tata Steel and Quantum Print.


More Information: 

For press enquries please contact: Megan Gourlay, Corby Borough Council
Telephone: 01536 464022 Mobile: 07568 590 324

Follow us on Twitter @CorbyBC

Last updated: Thursday 5th September 2019 10:14:31 AM
Review date: Wednesday 25th August 2021 10:13:11 AM