North Northamptonshire Joint Committee to hold first meeting

Release Date: 
Monday, June 17, 2019 - 11:00

The North Northamptonshire Joint Committee, which will pave the way for the shadow authority to deliver the new unitary council for the north, will hold its first meeting on Monday, 24 June.

Following a decision from the Secretary of State James Brokenshire last month, two new unitary councils will be created in Northamptonshire on 1 April 2021 (Vesting Day).

Elected members from the north authorities (Corby, East Northants, Kettering, Northamptonshire County and Wellingborough), who have been appointed to the Joint Committee, will meet at 6.30pm in the council chamber at Kettering Borough Council. The venue for meetings will rotate among districts within North Northamptonshire, using the respective Council Chambers.

The meeting will be open to members of the public, and papers for the Joint Committee are available on

- ENDS -

Editor’s notes:

North Northants Joint Committee members:

Corby Borough Council joint committee members

Cllr Tom Beattie - LAB

Cllr Jean Addison - LAB

Cllr Kevin Watt – CON

East Northamptonshire Council joint committee members

Cllr Steven North – CON

Cllr David Jenney - CON

Cllr John Farrar - LAB

Kettering Borough Council joint committee members

Cllr Russell Roberts – CON

Cllr Ian Jelley - CON

Cllr Mick Scrimshaw – LAB

Borough Council of Wellingborough joint committee members

Cllr Griffiths - CON

Cllr Partridge-Underwood - CON

Cllr Scarborough – LAB

Northamptonshire County Council joint committee members

Cllrs Victoria Perry – CON

Jonathan Ekins – CON

Jason Smithers - CON

Find council meeting agendas and reports at 

More Information: 

For press enquries please contact: Megan Gourlay, Corby Borough Council
Telephone: 01536 464022 Mobile: 07568 590 324

Follow us on Twitter @CorbyBC

Last updated: Monday 17th June 2019 11:00:57 AM
Review date: Sunday 6th June 2021 10:58:55 AM