Go to the new North Northamptonshire Council website

Have your say on who is elected for brand new North Northants Council

Release Date: 
Monday, March 22, 2021 - 16:00

A new era for Northamptonshire is coming as preparation for the upcoming May 2021 elections is well underway.

On 1 April 2021, the eight district and borough councils across Northamptonshire will merge to create two brand new unitary authorities. The change means that North Northamptonshire Council will take over all responsibilities for the elections formerly held by Corby Borough Council, East Northamptonshire Council, Kettering Borough Council and Borough Council of Wellingborough.

78 councillors will be elected to the new council and on 6 May 2021 residents across the north of the county will be invited to vote for their preferred candidates.

To have your say you MUST register to vote by Monday 19 April. Registering couldn’t be easier – simply go to the Government website, www.gov.uk/register-to-vote, using your tablet or smartphone. The form is quick and easy, but please ensure you have your National Insurance number to hand. You can also register by calling your local elections office.

To find out how to apply for a postal, proxy or emergency proxy vote, please visit https://beta.northnorthants.gov.uk/ or your current local council website. Please note the following deadlines to register for a postal or proxy vote:

  • Postal vote - Tuesday 20 April, 5pm
  • Proxy vote – Tuesday 27 April, 5pm

To find the details of your local elections office please visit your local council’s website.

Returning Officer for the North Northamptonshire election, Rob Bridge, said:

“Registering to vote and having your say has never been more significant for the people of Northamptonshire. This is a completely new chapter for the area and your vote will contribute to mapping out the future of North Northamptonshire.

“Registering couldn’t be easier and we can assure all residents that keeping everyone safe whilst we still face the COVID-19 pandemic is at the forefront of our minds. We ask that voters keep an eye out ahead of polling day for details of safety measures that will be in place on the day throughout all polling stations.”

On polling day, residents will also be able to cast votes for the Northamptonshire Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner and to elect representatives for many of their local town and parish councils, including the first elections to new town councils for Corby, Kettering, and Wellingborough.

There will also be Neighbourhood Planning Referendums held in Ecton and Gretton.


Notes to Editor:

3 seats in each of the following 26 wards will be up for election in the new North Northamptonshire Council area:

  • Brickhill and Queensway
  • Burton and Broughton
  • Clover Hill
  • Corby Rural
  • Corby West
  • Croyland and Swanspool
  • Desborough
  • Earls Barton
  • Finedon
  • Hatton Park
  • Higham Ferrers
  • Irchester
  • Irthlingborough
  • Ise
  • Kingswood
  • Lloyds
  • Northall
  • Oakley
  • Oundle
  • Raunds
  • Rothwell and Mawsley
  • Rushden Pemberton West
  • Rushden South
  • Thrapston
  • Wicksteed
  • Windmill
More Information: 

For press enquiries please contact: Megan Gourlay, Corby Borough Council

Telephone: 01536 464022 Mobile: 07568 590 324

Email megan.gourlay@corby.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter @CorbyBC

Last updated: Monday 22nd March 2021 03:59:49 PM
Review date: Sunday 12th March 2023 03:58:41 PM