Corby Borough Council Christmas Arrangements

Release Date: 
Monday, December 17, 2018 - 16:00

With just a week to go before the big day, Corby Borough Council is letting residents know of the changes that will be made to the authority’s services over the Christmas break.

Council offices, including the One Stop Shop in the Corby Cube will close at 2pm on Monday 24th December and reopen on Friday 28th December. It will then close on Tuesday 1st January with normal service resuming on Wednesday 2nd January.

Opening times at Lodge Park Sports Centre and Corby East Midlands International Pool will also alter over the festive period as follows:

Date

Lodge Park Sports Centre

Corby East Midlands International Pool

Saturday 22nd December

8.15am-10pm

8am-5pm

Sunday 23rd December

8.15am-10.30pm

8am-5pm

Monday 24th December

Closed

6.30am-4pm

Tuesday 25th December

Closed

Closed

Wednesday 26th December

Closed

Closed

Thursday 27th December

6.15am-10.30pm

7am-10pm

Friday 28th December

6.15am-10.30pm

6.30am-10pm

Saturday 29th December

8.15am-10pm

8am-5pm

Sunday 30th December

8.15am-10.30pm

8am-5pm

Monday 31st December

6.15am-4pm

Closed

Tuesday 1st January

Closed

Closed

To see other changes to Culture and Leisure services over this period, please visit www.corby.gov.uk/home/leisure-culture.

There will also be changes to bin collections due to Christmas and Boxing Day falling on weekdays this year.

Refuse, recycling and food waste collection days over the festive holiday period are as follows:

Normal Scheduled Collections

Day/Date for Collections to be completed

Monday 24th December 2018

Monday 24th December 2018

Tuesday 25th December 2018

Monday 24th December 2018

Wednesday 26th December 2018

Thursday 27th December 2018

Thursday 27th December 2018

Thursday 27th December 2018

Friday 28th December 2018

Friday 28th December 2018

Monday 31st December 2018

Monday 31st December 2018

Tuesday 1st January 2019

Wednesday 2nd January 2019

Wednesday 2nd January 2019

Thursday 3rd January 2019

Thursday 3rd January 2019

Friday 4th January 2019

Friday 4th January 2019

Saturday 5th January 2019

Due to the low usage of green waste collection over the festive holiday period and to increase efficiency of refuse, recycling and food waste collection, Corby’s green waste collections for the week commencing Monday 24th December 2018 will be cancelled for one week only. The green waste collections will then resume as normal from week commencing Monday 7th January 2019.

Excess cardboard can be placed flattened and tied neatly beside your brown wheelie bin on collection day during this period only.

Real Christmas trees can be placed in the green bin providing the lid is closed when presenting for collection.

Normal collections will resume on Monday 7th January 2019.

For residents planning on using the Corby Household Waste and recycling site for any excess waste during this period please note the site will be closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s day please follow link below for further details including opening and closing times https://www3.northamptonshire.gov.uk/councilservices/waste-and-recycling/Pages/default.aspx

Should you require any additional information about the changed collection arrangements please telephone the Council's Street Scene Hotline on (01536) 464242

More Information: 

For press enquries please contact: Kim Buzzard, Corby Borough Council
Telephone: 01536 464022 Mobile: 07568 590 324
Email kim.buzzard@corby.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter @CorbyBC

Last updated: Wednesday 19th December 2018 03:59:11 PM
Review date: Tuesday 8th December 2020 03:58:21 PM